Alumni Formation

The Alumni Association of the Faculty of Business Studies (AAFBS) was formed on 14th February 2021 to lay the foundation and strengthen the link between alumni and the Faculty of Business Studies. At the outset, Dr. Y. Nanthagopan, Dean / Faculty of Business Studies, and the Ex-Officio of the AAFBS welcomed the gathering. Dr. Y. Nanthagopan thanked the gathering and reiterated the Alumni’s role in shaping the Faculty activities. Afterward, Dr. T. Mangaleswaran, Rector and the Patron of the AAFBS, briefed the activities that the Alumni can work towards the betterment of the Faculty, Campus, and eventually the nation. Further, Dr. T. Mangaleswaran thanked both Chair for the Establishment of Faculty Alumni, Mr. J. Aloy Niresh and Dean / FBS, Dr. Y. Nanthagopan for coordinating and taking initiatives to form the AAFBS officially. Afterward, the members present have been requested to give a brief introduction about themselves, followed by office-bearers’ election.

The following members were unanimously elected for the Ex-Co, and the composition of Ex-Co is as tabulated below:

PresidentMr. Pavan Senadhira
Vice-PresidentDr. Suren de Chickera
General SecretaryMr. Vasanthakumar Kumaradeepan
Assistant SecretaryMs. Subajana Jeyaseelan
TreasurerMr. Chandrasegaran Larojan
Assistant TreasurerMs. Sivatharshika Balasuntharam
Outreach CommitteeChairMr. Selvanayagam Sdevin
MemberMs. Shehara Ranasinghe
MemberMs. Malinsha Munasinghe
Fundraising CommitteeChairMr. Thilakshan Peter
MemberMs. Dilini Yapa
MemberMs. Yashoda Nirmani Gunathilaka
Nine Ordinary MembersAccounting and FinanceMs. Udeni Jayasundara
Mr. Madhawa Senavirathne
Marketing ManagementMr. Yoosuf Lebbe Muhammad Paslan
Ms. Noorul Safna
Business EconomicsMs.  Gagani Bandara  
Bachelor of Business Management (General)Mr. Habeeb Mohammed
Project ManagementMs. Nirosha Thilakarathna
Human Resource ManagementMr. Mohamed Habeebullah Ansaf Ahamed
Bachelor of Accountancy and FinanceMr. Shanmugaratnam Shanmugathasan
Dean of the Faculty of Business StudiesEx-OfficioDr. Yogarajah Nanthagopan

The quorum of one-third came online on the 14th February 2021, around 203 Alumni registered, and out of it about 90 alumni took part in the meeting, excluding the Faculty of Business Studies staff members signaling that the threshold for passing the resolution was met. Afterward, the President and Secretary of the AAFBS briefed the planned activities of the AAFBS.

Dr. Y. Nanthagopan / Dean and also Ex-Officio acclaimed the efforts being put forth by the Alumni in making the meeting a grand success. Eventually, Mr. J. Aloy Niresh / Chair for the Establishment of Faculty Alumni thanked the Alumni members for taking part in the significant event. And also, thanked Dr. T. Mangaleswaran / Rector and the Patron of the AAFBS, Dr. Y. Nanthagopan / Dean of the Faculty of Business Studies and the Ex-Officio, Members of the Establishment of Faculty Alumni Committee, Web Committee especially Mr. K. Suthesan, and Academics for their generous efforts towards making things happen and requested the new committee to work on expanding and enriching the network further at a much faster phase.